Association of Southeast Asian Nations

ASEAN Member States:

  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Myanmar
  • Vietnam

Six members of ASEAN are on the move to achieve their zero-tariff target for all export merchandises by beginning of January 2010: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Brunei. The other countries were given longer time frames to meet AFTA’s tariff reduction obligations. The ASEAN Free Trade Area is called AFTA .